A Mysterious Gift And An Awkward Christmas

I spent my first Christmas out here with Steve and his parents. I guess this is my family now— I’m not in contact with my mom and dad after what happened back home. Steve’s mom doesn’t like me and his dad is kind of creepy. I don’t like the way he looks at me.

This isn’t how I expected my life to be out here. I guess you shouldn’t have many expectations when you suddenly move across the country with just a suitcase, and you move in with your internet boyfriend you’ve never met IRL before.

Steve’s dad offered me a receptionist job at one of his tanning salons. I think his mom was offended when I said I’d think about it instead of jumping at the opportunity. I’m getting some serious pressure from Steve so I’ll probably go for it. I still haven’t heard back about the private librarian position at the mansion and I’m broke as shit.

Steve gave me a scuffed up U2 CD for Christmas. It looks like he got it from a thrift shop. He should remember that I hate U2 from the time when I said “I hate U2,” and he got mad at me because he thought I said “I hate you too.” I guess my gift to him was pretty lame also. I just made him a card with a poem I wrote. I thought the poem was sweet and funny but he didn’t even crack a smile.

The weirdest part of this Christmas was this mysterious gift for me that was slipped through the mail slot at Steve’s apartment. No return address. I opened it up and it was just an old key. I have no clue who it could be from but I’m going to keep it for good luck.

How was everyone else’s holiday?


Next on Life of Kendra: My 2016
Previously on Life of Kendra: A Shit Day
The whole story so far: Visit the Archive

2 thoughts on “A Mysterious Gift And An Awkward Christmas

Leave a Reply

