Hey Y’all

I haven’t posted in my blog for a while so I thought I’d give everyone an update. My life has been uncharacteristically boring. But boring is what I need right now. Last year was too crazy with the incident back home, suddenly moving (hitchhiking) across the country, and that weird job I applied for but didn’t get.

I’ve settled into my job at the tanning salon. It’s been pretty uneventful—unless you count the time some guy peed in the tanning bed. Steve’s Dad said it happens a lot. It turns out I’m a decent sales person, and I’ve been making some commissions on product sales. Most of it goes to Steve for back rent, but it feels good to make a little money.

I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like, but I posted a short story last week. Steve actually read it, which was cool of him. I don’t think he liked the story but he was more supportive than usual, and he hasn’t really been a dick lately. I guess me having a job has eased some tensions in our relationship.

As for my novel, I’m only 1,200 words in and I’m already stuck. After finishing my obsessively detailed outline I changed the profession of the main character from a fashion designer to a model. The change makes her motivation stronger and now the plot makes more sense but I don’t feel like I know the character any more. I don’t have a sense of her, and I’m not having that problem with the other characters.

What should I do? Should I just write through the uncertainty and let the protagonist’s essence emerge? Or should I find a way to figure her out now?


Next of Life of Kendra: It’s Back. What Should I Do?
Previously on Life of Kendra: Tales From The Tanning Salon
The whole story so far: Visit the Archive

10 thoughts on “Hey Y’all

  1. First, congratulations on the job at the tanning salon. Did you ever find out why a rich guy wanted a private librarian? (There’s a story there for sure!) I would absolutely write through your uncertainty. They say the first draft is where you find your story. Write as much as needed to find all the layers of your protagonist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The lawyer said that the rich guy’s home library was so big that he needed some one to organize, manage, and find new books for it. Pretty much a dream job but I never heard back. Thanks for the advice, it sounds like I just need to get off my ass and write!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you tried doing a character bio/sketch? I personally don’t use them, although many do, but I have done “interviews” with a couple of my characters that were fun.

    Congrats on the job! I hope you’ll be able to get away from the dickhead boyfriend soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a character bio but it’s not very detailed, maybe I should flesh it out, good idea.

      Thanks! Steve is indeed a dickhead but he also has a lot of good qualities and was there for me when literally no one else was. Plus he got me this job!

      Like

    2. Well I’m glad to hear that. Yes, by all means, have fun with the bio. Maybe you could add some traits from childhood friends? I’ve drawn on people who make me crazy for some characters 😉 Good way to get even with them without being thrown in jail! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

